Eye Glasses Case

January 9, 2010 at 11:12 am 2 comments

I love English Paper Piecing! That’s something I never thought I would say, but I recently discovered how much enjoy this technique. Hand-sewing something has proven to be quite relaxing and piecing together lots of cute fabrics is always a lot of fun.

I came across this technique when making another Christmas present – an eye class case (following this great and very easy to follow tutorial over at Liesl Made). As I really enjoyed the process as well as the final product, I am already forward to paper piecing a few more things… Another case is already in the works! And this time I’ll try to integrate a flex frame to keep the glasses from sliding out of their case.

Additionally to the tutorial mentioned beforehand, I used these instructions for the paper piecing as I didn’t have any freezer paper to work with and used just normal paper onto which I printed the hexagon shapes from the same site. (other shapes / patterns are available too)

Oh, and I used Amy Butler fabric for this project – more specifically from her Lotus and Belle range.

Entry filed under: Projects. Tags: , , , , , , .

Patchwork Bags – Second Batch Help For Haiti

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lieslree  |  January 9, 2010 at 18:49 pm

    Looks great!
    Glad you enjoyed the tutorial. I should have put a disclaimer up–English Paper Piecing is a bit addicting. 😉

    Reply
    • 2. summernightsmiles  |  January 10, 2010 at 13:00 pm

      It definitely is 😉 But I guess there are worse things one could be addicted to… 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Pattern Challenge

Pattern Challenge


