Bag Swap – It has been received!

December 25, 2009 at 21:11 pm 3 comments


BAGAHOLIC

Hello everybody! =)

After being absent from my blog writing for quite some time now, finally something new from me. All my time has been taken up by uni work and my master thesis over the last few months.

So you’ll have to excuse my being late to show you the bag I made for my swap partner Katherine in the process of the Bag-A-Holic Autumn Swap.

Remember the very cute bag she send me? Just a quick reminder here.

And here you can find a very kind post she wrote about my bag on her blog. =)

And here it is, my creation for the bag swap:

(Sorry, this is a very picture-heavy post…)

Bag Swap

Bag Swap

Bag SwapBag Swap


Bag Swap

I made this bag following a pattern from my favourite bag-related resource – U-Handbag. It is Lisa’s Expandable Pack It In Tote pattern. A great pattern to follow! And even though it used a lot of techniques that were new to me it worked out great! I’ll definitely be making it again – I’ve already had a few requests… 😉

The fabric I used is from my all-time favourite fabric store, sadly located as far away as Stockholm: Ohlssons.

Entry filed under: Projects. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Merry Christmas Sneak Peek

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  March 4, 2010 at 19:42 pm

    That turned out amazing! I just downloaded this pattern and I am eager to give it a try. Any tips to pass along from the experience?

    Reply
    • 2. summernightsmiles  |  March 4, 2010 at 23:22 pm

      Thanks 🙂 glad you like it.
      I’ll check my notes and come back to you about the pattern! can’t remember any serious troubles with it though… 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. summernightsmiles  |  March 6, 2010 at 15:46 pm

    OK, so I did check again and only found two little problems I encountered, both of them which are probably more down to me than to the pattern… 😉
    I experienced a bit of tearing of the fabric at the inner pocket, using the small magnetic snap. Next time I will use more interfacing to prevent this or sturdier fabric.
    One other thing (this is definitely a user error): Be sure to use an easily removable marker pen to mark where to stitch down the ties. Although this is clearly stated in the pattern, I only passingly checked if I could remove my chalk and then found out, it was quite impossible… The stitching hides it somewhat, but I am a perfectionist… 😉

    Overall I loved making this bag as it involved so many new techniques for me. I had never used a flexi-tube for bag handles before, or eyelets for that matter. And weirdly I found the gathering at the bottom of the bag a very enjoyable task… 😉

    And, of course, the result is very rewarding…

    Happy bag making!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Pattern Challenge

Pattern Challenge


