Fabric Necklace

June 10, 2009 at 14:05 pm Leave a comment

A project I long had an eye on, was Amy Butler’s Fabric Necklace, a free pattern that is available from her homepage. It looked so nice and easy! And I can now tell you: it is! 😉

I finished my first fabric necklace, using a fabric I bought from Ebay for 1.- € (and that’s for 5(!) meters of it).

I altered the pattern a little bit. Instead of first cutting rectangles from the fabric and then cutting the bias strips from it, I cut the strips directly from the fabric, as it seemed like a waste of fabric to do otherwise.

Also, I used wooden beads instead of the Styrofoam balls. As I only had 3/4” ones instead of 1” ones, I had to adapt the pattern accordingly so the fabric still fit around them quite tightly. (I used a 3/4” seam instead of a 1/2” one to sew together the bias tube.)

But, all in all, I think it’s a very nice project. Quick and easy, and nice to look at too. I might just make the next one a lot longer, so I can wrap it around my neck two times. =)

Fabric Necklace

Fabric Necklace

Fabric Necklace

Entry filed under: Projects. Tags: , , .

Camera Cozy iPod Case

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Pattern Challenge

Pattern Challenge


