Birdie Sling

April 18, 2009 at 17:09 pm 4 comments

Finally, it’s done! After laying it aside for a few weeks, then missing some thread, then not being motivated etc. I finally finished my Birdie Sling bag (of course made from a pattern by Amy Butler). Wow, even after reading a lot of reviews and comments about this pattern, I still have to say: this is a BIG bag!

But perfect for carrying around groceries as I found out today when taking it with me to the supermarket. Very sturdy, even though I left out the interfacing and only used the fusible fleece (I was already using heavy home dec fabric from Ikea and I didn’t want it to get too stiff).

I am only a little sad that I forgot to put in a magnetic snap (it’s not in the pattern, but I usually do it for all my bags). But I think that was part of my wanting to get done with the bag.

Oh, one more comment: when sewing the exterior/interior panels to the bands, it didn’t quite fit and I had to put in small additional pleats on the panels.

Not a bag I will use on a day-to-day basis but probably when I know I’ll have to carry around a lot of stuff.

Birdie Sling

Birdie Sling

Entry filed under: Projects.

Back from London and Guernsey Finally, a magnetic closure

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  April 18, 2009 at 17:54 pm

    Since I’m always changing things in bag patterns and that makes things happen out of order, I have put in magnetic snaps after a bag was done! I use the ones from Joanns that have the two prongs on each side…. I cut through where i want it to go with my stitch ripper, going through only one side and stick it in. Then you’ve got to kind of wiggle the legs open, I kind of force them open gently by pushing against the edge of my sewing table. It won’t have the metal backing on it but I’ve never had an afterthought one come out. Worth a shot 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. summernightsmiles  |  April 20, 2009 at 15:00 pm

      Thank you so much for the idea! As I used quite a heavy fabric a magnetic snap should hopefully survive even without additionally interfacing =)
      I’ll try it out for sure and report on the results!

      Reply
  • 3. Ariane Phillips  |  April 20, 2009 at 18:23 pm

    You could also take out a small section of the stitching in the liner and flip the back again and add it. Would take a little bit more effort, but then it wouldn’t be too late to add the interfacing! Either way, I don’t think it is hopeless to add a magnetic snap 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Ariane Phillips  |  April 20, 2009 at 18:24 pm

    Whoops – I didn’t realize you topped stitch until I looked closer – hahaha – ignore my comment 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Pattern Challenge

Pattern Challenge


