Wasp Bag

April 7, 2009 at 15:54 pm 7 comments

Finally I got to make the wasp bag I had wanted to do for quite some time now. Such a great pattern! As usual, most of the time was spent cutting out all the pieces πŸ˜‰

And I love the result! I already wore it out on town once and felt great with it. The fabric I used is some of the fabric I bought in Stockholm (it’s Sanderson’s Kasuri fabric in aubergine) and some plain fabric from Ikea’s scrap basket.

Oh, and you can find the instructions for the bag here.

Wasp Bag

Wasp Bag

If you want to check out other wasp bags, take a look at the wasp bag flickr group.

Entry filed under: Projects. Tags: , .

Easter Eggs Back from London and Guernsey

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ariane Phillips  |  April 8, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Great job! Love the fabric you used! I am sure you will get lots of comments on your lovely new bag!

    Reply
    • 2. summernightsmiles  |  April 18, 2009 at 16:42 pm

      Thank you for your comment! =)
      I am so happy about the fabric choice, although I always worry about using light-colored fabrics for the exterior of a bag. I just hope I don’t get it too dirty too quickly… πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  • 3. martina Su  |  April 8, 2009 at 7:33 am

    what a lovely bag and fabric, it really stands out. Did you do some modification. I really like the shape

    Reply
    • 4. summernightsmiles  |  April 18, 2009 at 16:37 pm

      Hey =)
      I only made a slight modification on the interior of the bag. I found the instructions for the pocket quite confusing so I left that out and added a zippered pocket instead. I used the tutorial by U-Handbag: http://u-handbag.typepad.com/uhandblog/2007/02/zippered_inner_.html
      Thanks for your comment.

      Reply
      • 5. ariane  |  May 9, 2009 at 23:49 pm

        I agree about the instructions about the pocket – when I made the bag – I just obmitted the pocket. I am making another one and I will put in a zippered pocket also.

        Reply
  • 6. jody  |  April 9, 2009 at 18:33 pm

    Aweome bag! I love the fabric – I may have to scope out the Ikea scraps!!

    Reply
    • 7. summernightsmiles  |  April 18, 2009 at 16:39 pm

      Thanks so much for your kind comment =)
      I just love searching for fabric scraps – at Ikea, thrift stores etc. This way I often acquire fabric I wouldn’t normally consider buying. And I always find a project to use it on… πŸ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Pattern Challenge

Pattern Challenge


